pasadenatim
First Name: Timothy

US Divers Valve Question

Sun Oct 05, 2014 2:59 pm

I'm new to the Vintage arena, and have done some DIY with other equipment. I have a US Divers J valve that apparently has an older Overpressure relief plug. According to the schematic, it appears to be an pre 1966 valve plug and is Large. Much bigger than the 3/8th standard. Is this 1/2 inch? It measures like 9/16 at the threads. Also, any tips on getting out the brass/copper washer? It appears stuck or corroded. I didn't want to pry too much on it for fear of damaging it,
Thanks for any help. I've enjoyed and learned a lot from this forum.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

EHowe
Master Diver
First Name: Edward

Re: US Divers Valve Question

Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:45 pm

I can't speak to the valve you have. But, I do have A couple of later model j-valves that I got parts for from Bryan. I would be willing to send you one for the price of shipping if your interested.
Ed

Ron
Site Admin
First Name: Ron

Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:04 pm

It looks like a 1/2" burst disc. I use a dental pick to get the copper burst disc out. I think Bryan sells these in the store.
The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed. -JYC

captain
Plank Owner

Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:12 am

It is probably not a brass or copper washer, it is most likely a phenolic gasket. You probably will not get it out in one piece as they stick to the valve and become brittle with age. Use a pick to break it up. You can replace it with a nylon one or leave it alone and put the nylon on top of it.
Captain

pasadenatim

Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:01 pm

Thanks to all for the information. I'll try the 1/2 in. plug from Brian. The gasket looks good so I'll leave that alone for now.

captain
Plank Owner

Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:09 pm