Forum rules
Discussion of diving methods and equipment available prior to the development of BCDs beyond the horse collar. This forum is dedicated to the pre-1970 diving.
Bryan
Plank Owner
First Name: Bryan

The Mystery of the Black Regulator......

Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:46 am

William Pique was nice enough to send me the mysterious black regulator he just won on E-bay so I could dissect and discover what secrets it holds. I’m going to try and post each part that I find different or unusual. I am by no means trying to allude to the fact that I am an expert on military regulators! I have been fortunate enough to own and service 9 military double hoses and have also been in contact with a couple of UDT/EOD guys that told me a lot about the internal parts that were used. Sam Miller wrote a very interesting post about these regulators on Dan’s board last year sometime so I am sure he will post his thoughts on the regulator as I post the photos. Hope you find it interesting! Set back and enjoy the show…….
Doing it right should include some common sense, not just blindly following specs and instructions. .Gary D, AWAP on SB

Bryan
Plank Owner

Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:50 am

Already the 1st part has me confused. The lable is on upside down and is made of a thin foil type material. I cannot do much with it because I can't chance damaging it. I'm at a loss for why it would be this way?

You can see where the black finish has been applied to the regulator can. On all the others I have seen the black finish is on both sides of the can. What I do find unusual is the exposed metal has neither the shiny chrome or the satin chrome finish. It appears to be flat stainless......
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Doing it right should include some common sense, not just blindly following specs and instructions. .Gary D, AWAP on SB

Bryan
Plank Owner

Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:52 am

What is wrong here ?