sitkadiver
Master Diver
First Name: Dave

Shotgun Recovery while diving my Phoenix HPR

Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:21 pm

Here's a video I made of the recovery of a shotgun here in Sitka. The gun had been underwater for 2 1/2 weeks, but was in surprisingly good shape. The owner had a couple of people look for it already, but they didn't dive with a Phoenix, so the cold water pretty much shut them down.

The video is a rather poor quality. I cut it down to 4 minutes and am in the market for a decent editing suite if anyone has suggestions. I'm still new to the Gopro world and my plan for this year to become more proficient at video and editing.

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCtpzzLYYvA[/video]

Also, I did just order some video lights and a tray. I'm hoping that will stabilize the camera and cut down on some of the annoying clicks and bangs.

Safe Diving.
I do not believe in taking unnecessary risks, but a life without risk is not worth living. - Charles Lindbergh

SurfLung
Master Diver
First Name: Eben

Re: Shotgun Recovery while diving my Phoenix HPR

Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:01 pm

- He Scores! Excellent video Sitka... When the shotgun came into the frame I was was right alongside you thinking, "There it is!" Nice recovery. Fun, real life video. Night diving in the land of the midnight sun!
- For editing, I use Cyberlink PowerDirector to edit things together. They have it at various price levels at http://www.cyberlink.com/products/power ... .html?&r=1.
- For just clipping out boring stretches or converting formats, there's a freeware called MPEG Stream Clip that I also use. It's at http://www.squared5.com/.
SurfLung
The Freedom and Simplicity of Vintage Equipment and
Vintage Diving Technique are Why I Got Back Into Diving.

gj1963
Master Diver
First Name: Geoff

Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:17 pm

Great video! Thanks for sharing. My four year old son and I enjoyed it.
-Geoff

swimjim
Master Diver
First Name: Jim

Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:28 pm