rhjameson
Diver

Time to Hot-Dip Galvanize?

Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:50 pm

Hello everyone,

I've got a major question to ask. I have six USD Steel 72, manufactured dates ranging from 1962 to 1972, and all are due for hydro-ed next month. All have passed their previous tests five years ago, and visual inspections in May 2011. Two of the tanks are showing signs of slight corrosion, but no pitting

I'm debating whether, or not, to have all the tanks Hot-Dip Galvanized prior to hydro-static testing. This is mostly to remove any existing, and prevent any further corrosion.

Any help, or suggestions, would be greatly appreciated.
Shoot only photos and videos, leave only bubbles, and kill only time.

YankDownUnder
Master Diver

Re: Time to Hot-Dip Galvanize?

Tue Apr 03, 2012 5:26 am

I have limited experience with hot galvanizing. The company we use needs an old valve with a hole in it installed. The hole is to put a stainless steel hook into. The hook supports the tank and has a stamped stainless label on it. The old valve plugs the neck to prevent the cylinder from filling up with zinc. All nylon and other heat sensitive items have to be removed. Anything on the outside will be burned off in the process I am told. We have had other items galvanized, but not tanks so the information came from the sales staff.

You can see tank production at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8R-I5I1Dgo

Galvanizing can be seen at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2J07n5hSbs

If you just want better looking tanks, home hardware companies sell Naval Jelly. It takes off paint and other items like stickers, and makes the galvanizing look new. However, it is the grey oxidation on the tank which actually protects the steel, so using Naval Jelly too often thins the galvanizing.

Robohips77
Master Diver

Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:15 pm

rhjameson wrote:Hello everyone,