DIN to Yoke connection?

Home compressor/fill stations. Post photos of your rig, questions, help,maintenance tips.

Moderator: captain

User avatar
Creed
Master Diver
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: San Ramon, CA

DIN to Yoke connection?

Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:42 pm

OK, I was able to convince the local fire chief to let me fill up my tanks on their system. However, their equipment is DIN, and has no yoke whips. Is there any way to rig up an adapter to let me fill my tanks from such a system? I asked about paying for a yoke whip to be added, but it was shot down.
"Haul the sheet in as we ride on the wind that our
forefathers harnessed before us
Hear the bells ring as the tide rigging sings.
It's a son of a gun of a chorus" - Jimmy Buffet

User avatar
Creed
Master Diver
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: San Ramon, CA

Re: DIN to Yoke connection?

Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:56 pm

Actually, after I got to thinking and googling about it again, I ran across this:
Image
http://www.scubatoys.com/store/detail.a ... DinAdapter

Is this what I need?
"Haul the sheet in as we ride on the wind that our
forefathers harnessed before us
Hear the bells ring as the tide rigging sings.
It's a son of a gun of a chorus" - Jimmy Buffet

User avatar
Gilldiver
Master Diver
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:29 pm

Re: DIN to Yoke connection?

Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:32 pm

The thing is that some of the converters will not fit the fatter valves. I use Poseideon converters and they fit everything I have including the Din/Yoke convertable valves.

Check eBay by doing a search "Din to Yoke" and 6 or 7 should pop up.
Double Hose Regulators, It not just a Hobby, it’s a Disease

User avatar
scubajim1
Lung Diver
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:17 pm
Location: Bolingbrook, IL

Re: DIN to Yoke connection?

Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:31 am

I second the Poseideon converters. I have had one for years and never had a issue anywhere.

elmerfudd
 

Re: DIN to Yoke connection?

Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:52 am

That adapter ought to do the trick, assuming they really have DIN fittings. Most SCBA tanks use a strange threaded connection, kind of like an oversize DIN valve with the male/female fittings reversed.

User avatar
luis
VDH Moderator
 
Posts: 1478
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:28 pm
Location: Maine

Re: DIN to Yoke connection?

Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:09 am

Be aware that if the fire department only fills SCBA, they normally only check their air purity for grade D, not grade E. If the fire department also has a Scuba team, then they will have to comply with grade E breathing air purity.

The air quality for breathing air (grade D) at one atmosphere is not required to be as clean as for breathing under pressure.

That being said, even if it is not tested to the grade E level, it is still possible that it may meet the higher standards.

I was surprised to see that on all the newer NAVY destroyers they have some great looking large Bauer compressors used to fill the SCBA and they only meet grade D air quality (or at least they only test for grade D). Most NAVY ships have excess capacity (in volume and pressure) to fill SCBA, but they can not fill a SCUBA tank.
Luis

Buceador con escafandra autónoma clásica.

User avatar
antique diver
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:50 pm
Location: North-Central Texas

Re: DIN to Yoke connection?

Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:59 am

Creed wrote:OK, I was able to convince the local fire chief to let me fill up my tanks on their system. However, their equipment is DIN, and has no yoke whips. Is there any way to rig up an adapter to let me fill my tanks from such a system? I asked about paying for a yoke whip to be added, but it was shot down.


Creed, before getting DIN to YOKE adapter, be sure that they actually have a DIN adapter that they use to fill SCUBA cylinders. Fire departments normally only have the CGA-346 or CGA-347 fill connections to fill their SCBA's... not SCUBA.... and sometimes the terminology gets confused.

If it turns out they only fill SCBA cylinders, I can come up with the proper adapter for that CGA fitting to SCUBA yoke. If necessary to determine for sure, just take a photo of their fill connector and send to me via email.

User avatar
Creed
Master Diver
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: San Ramon, CA

Re: DIN to Yoke connection?

Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:19 am

Actually, it turns out that I know the company that maintains their equipment, so I'm going to give them a call to get answers. Thanks!
"Haul the sheet in as we ride on the wind that our
forefathers harnessed before us
Hear the bells ring as the tide rigging sings.
It's a son of a gun of a chorus" - Jimmy Buffet

Return to Compressor Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest