jmcgilroy
First Name: Jim

BCD Options with Double Hose?

Sun Dec 29, 2019 12:56 pm

I'm just starting out and looking for options. I'm usually diving in cold water with a dry suit or 7mm and carry a lot of weight (34lbs). My reg. will have a Phoenix unit for the inflation hoses so I am FAR from a true vintage/retro guy but I'd like to retain some of that look and style. Some kind of backplate and wing? Where do I put all that weight? How can I position the tank low enough for the reg. to function properly with a standard BCD?

Thanks....I'm behind on the "learning curve",

Jim

swimjim
Master Diver
First Name: Jim

Re: BCD Options with Double Hose?

Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:40 pm

Welcome aboard Jim. I use my drysuit for buoyancy control. No BC. Works great! I dive in Wisconsin and Upper Michigan pretty much 12 months a year. A dry suit is a necessity up here.

BigMike
Master Diver
First Name: Mike

Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:14 pm

Welcome to the board. There are multiple options/answers to your questions. Many of the divers have experimented and tried different set ups and for me that made the experience more enjoyable. I like the VDH plate and wing (with crotch strap) for warmer water and use a Transpac (with crotch strap) when I dive in colder water. I lost my waist years ago and found that a shoulder strap weight belt worked the best for me when I needed to carry enough weight for a 7-8 mm full suit. You need a crotch strap to keep the regulator low on your back. Keep reading the forum because there is a ton of knowledge from some experienced divers throughout. That's how I got started. Good luck! Mike
You are never too old to start a new hobby.

Bryan
Plank Owner
First Name: Bryan

Sun Jan 19, 2020 10:59 pm

BigMike wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:14 pm