stephenws
Skin Diver
First Name: Stephen

Halcyon Backplate and Harness

Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:23 pm

Hello,

I've been diving a Halcyon backplate and harness rig for many years now and am wondering if there is much difference between what I have and backplate/harness rigs made specifically for double-hose diving? Will I be able to achieve optimum double-hose tank positioning with what I already have?

Pardon my newbie questions, as a may have several while I wait to get my Argonaut Kraken - hopefully later this year.

Thanks,
Steve

Herman
VDH Moderator

Re: Halcyon Backplate and Harness

Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:45 am

Welcome to the board and DH diving.
Off hand I am not familiar with the Halcyon plates so I am swaging it some but here goes. Looking at the Halcyon plate photos it appears to have a substantial ridge along the spine. If I am looking at the BP correctly, that ridge is going to lift the tank up off your back by an inch or more, that will hurt any DH regs performance a good bit. The next issue is a DH reg should be worn a good bit lower on the back than most people dive single hose regs. The "cans" (metal or plastic main body of the reg) needs to be roughly between your shoulder blades. In my experience, this positioning is difficult to achieve with most modern BCs or plates. The plates want to come to rest much higher than is acceptable even if the straps are adjusted so the top of the plate is in the correct position. If you manage to get the plate low enough, that tends to put the waist strap much too low. When "modern" DH diving, I use a Zeagle ET which is soft BP. In it's factory design, I could get the plate low enough but when I did, my waist strap ended up below my crotch....that did not work and was down right uncomfortable with a crotch strap...which you should use to prevent a BP from riding up. I had it modified to move the waist strap up several inches which put the waist strap where is should be and it now works great..