502Diver
Diver
First Name: Tim

New to Vintage Double Hose: Mass Confusion

Wed Nov 27, 2019 2:12 pm

A neighbor recently gave me her dad’s old steel 72 and DA AquaMaster (round label with long yoke). I was blown away when she dropped it off because I was just expecting a free tank. I have no previous experience with vintage gear, so I come to you humbly asking for help. I’ve been through the forums, but I’m having a hard time weighing my options. This gear has been sitting in a garage for 20+ years and needs a full rebuild (I’d like to do it myself).

On the the questions:

1. Can the DA AquaMaster be dove with a modern bp/w? I’ve seen several recommendations for the VDH backlate, but is there a reason I couldn’t use my existing plate? I have enough clearance with a single tank adapter.

2. Since this will not be my “go-to” reg, I’d like to keep the rebuild cost within reason, but still dive with an SPG. That leaves the options of a banjo fitting or a Phoenix 1st stage upgrade. From a cost standpoint, which route would be better? How much length does the Phoenix add to the reg (valve to front of can)? Will a banjo fitting work with modern tank valves?

3. The tank doesn’t appear to have a liner and very little rust, I dropped it off with my local shop to have a VIP/Hydro. The shop owner said it wasn’t worth putting back into service and recommended I buy a used AL80. I prefer the buoyancy characteristics of a steel tank, but is there merit to his comments about the cost to get it divable again vs buying an AL80? What are the opinions on replacing the J valve with a modern DIN/conversion valve vs servicing the J valve?

Thank you in advance for any insight you could offer. This gear is about 20 years older than I am, but I love the history of it.

Thanks,
Tim

ScubaLawyer
Master Diver
First Name: Mark

Re: New to Vintage Double Hose: Mass Confusion

Wed Nov 27, 2019 3:35 pm

502Diver wrote:
Wed Nov 27, 2019 2:12 pm