sonofnom
First Name: Steven

New Double-Hose Owner

Sun Nov 22, 2015 2:17 am

Howdy gang! I'm new to this whole vintage double hose thing, but I managed to pick up a DA-Aqua Master 1958-72 square blue label model. It needs everything before it will be functional, but I have the tools and the patience to fix it. I plan on converting it to a balanced Phoenix 1st stage with an HPR second stage. The question I had is this; what additional parts do I need beyond what is included in these conversion "kits"? I found a 2 stage "service kit" for the DA online under the seller "vintagedoublehose" and I am wondering if that is a good idea to pick up. I really appreciate any advice or help that any of you fine folks can provide, as I am very new at this.

Herman
VDH Moderator

Re: New Double-Hose Owner

Sun Nov 22, 2015 8:28 am

Welcome to the board.
If your DA has a square label, it was made between 58 and 69, 70-72 had round labels. If it's shinny chrome, 64-69 and if it has a yoke screw that looks like a tire 66-69. It really does not matter what year it was made, internally they are all the same but it's always fun to narrow it down some.

This board is Vintage Double Hose and where you can purchase all parts you need. Besides the Phoenix and HPR, you will require a few more parts to get it operational and there are some that are nice to have. I will list the parts and give you some explanation why you need/want them, it suffices to say that ALL rubber parts have to be replaced, none of them stand up to 45 or more years of aging and are still good enough to dive with. With a Phoenix and HPR you are building a very good breathing regulator, don't scrimp on old rubber goods.

The parts you will require are, (they are NOT optional no matter of how good the originals look :) :

DA service kit - it does not come with a HP seat but you will not need it if you are installing a Phoenix