RIX SA3E

Home compressor/fill stations. Post photos of your rig, questions, help,maintenance tips.

Moderator: captain

swimjim
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 12:28 am
Location: Belgium WI

Re: RIX SA3E

Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:01 pm

Looks like your drive belt may be a little loose Eben. Might want to check that out.

Swimjim

User avatar
SurfLung
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:03 pm
Location: Alexandria, MN

Re: RIX SA3E

Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:48 pm

Hi Jim,
Yeah, that flappy look has bothered me, too. I've thought of putting an idler wheel in there. The belt is actually very tight (I think)... I have a 3 foot pry-bar I lean on as I tighten the motor mounts. The top is the slack side when the compressor is running so maybe that's why it looks like that.
SurfLung
The Freedom and Simplicity of Vintage Equipment and
Vintage Diving Technique are Why I Got Back Into Diving.

User avatar
antique diver
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1294
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:50 pm
Location: North-Central Texas

Re: RIX SA3E

Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:28 pm

SurfLung wrote:Hi Jim,
Yeah, that flappy look has bothered me, too. I've thought of putting an idler wheel in there. The belt is actually very tight (I think)... I have a 3 foot pry-bar I lean on as I tighten the motor mounts. The top is the slack side when the compressor is running so maybe that's why it looks like that.



There is a page on correct belt tensioning in the manual for my SA6. Probably included in your SA3 manual as well, but if not I can scan it to you, although the specs could be different on the smaller block. Too tight is not good for your shaft bearings on motor and compressor

User avatar
SurfLung
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:03 pm
Location: Alexandria, MN

Re: RIX SA3E

Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:18 pm

Filled at 3 cf/min last night...
- Well, after all of the piston re-ringing and head rebuilding, I slipped the adjustable speed pulley onto the RIX. The specs say at 2300 RPM, it will pump 3 cf per minute fill rate. I turned it on and measure the compressor's RPM... It was a little too fast at 2400+ rpm. So, I dialed the adjustable pulley back one turn, re-tightened the belt and turned it on again. I think it measures 2296 rpm... As close to 2300 as I can get!
- I didn't fill tanks right away so last night when filling and topping off tanks for the Fortune Pond trip was the first time I could give everything a good try. Good results all around:
1 - The fill rate was noticeably faster. My twin tanks and Aluminum 80s actually got warm during their fills... Usually only the single 38s and smaller get warm when I fill them.
2 - The compressor was running cooler. Usually the fan air coming out the back is very warm. This time is was just slightly warm.
SurfLung
The Freedom and Simplicity of Vintage Equipment and
Vintage Diving Technique are Why I Got Back Into Diving.

User avatar
SurfLung
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:03 pm
Location: Alexandria, MN

Re: RIX SA3E

Fri Aug 04, 2017 1:23 pm

- I'm wondering if my Back Pressure Valve (aka PMV) is working properly. When I don't have the hose connected to the filter array and turn on the compressor, there is airflow coming out. I thought it was supposed to have no air coming out until 1800 psi. BUT, when the hose is connected to the filter array, it does seem that the back pressure valve holds back until 1800 because that's when the needle starts to move on the filter array's gauge.
- However, I disconnected the hose at the BPV and there was some water in the hose. The filter array is located a couple of feet above the BPV so the water stays mostly at the bottom. But I'm wondering if there should be any water in there at all?
SurfLung
The Freedom and Simplicity of Vintage Equipment and
Vintage Diving Technique are Why I Got Back Into Diving.

User avatar
antique diver
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1294
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:50 pm
Location: North-Central Texas

Re: RIX SA3E

Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:38 pm

SurfLung wrote:- I'm wondering if my Back Pressure Valve (aka PMV) is working properly. When I don't have the hose connected to the filter array and turn on the compressor, there is airflow coming out. I thought it was supposed to have no air coming out until 1800 psi. BUT, when the hose is connected to the filter array, it does seem that the back pressure valve holds back until 1800 because that's when the needle starts to move on the filter array's gauge.
- However, I disconnected the hose at the BPV and there was some water in the hose. The filter array is located a couple of feet above the BPV so the water stays mostly at the bottom. But I'm wondering if there should be any water in there at all?


Here's the manufacturers info and schematic on the valve that you have mounted after your final separator on the compressor. http://valvesandregulators.aquaenvironm ... 20906R.pdf
They are pretty simple, and with your abilities you will have no trouble opening it up and checking out the internals.

They do let a small amount of air seep past the hard seat and ball, and with normal wear can get worse, but I am not sure what is going on with yours since it seems to be responding normally according to your gauges.

About the water... the small original 3rd stage separator will allow some moisture to get past it in normal use, and it ends up in the downstream PMV and air lines. That's why I wanted the secondary separator as the first component in your remote filter array. That separator should catch a lot more moisture before it can reach your filter media, greatly increasing the media life.

User avatar
SurfLung
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:03 pm
Location: Alexandria, MN

Re: RIX SA3E

Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:21 am

My RIX Purrrs...
- I have had a low level but persistent rattle ever since I got the RIX. Sometimes pressing on the cowl would change it and sometimes not. I eventually concluded it was something in the swash plate, turnbuckles, or bearing system... And I thought it would eventually reveal itself in some sort of breakage.
- Until this Summer, I never ran it without the cowl because the cowl plays a significant role in the cooling fan system. But this spring I was running on a cool day and decided to try running it without the cowl. Eureka! There was no rattle. I ran it up to high pressure and no rattle. I ran it long enough to warm up and fill a tank... Still no rattle. So, the rattle had something to do with the cowl.
- I inspected the heck out of the cowl and finally found a depression where it was pressing against one of the low pressure air tube loops... It actually had pressed an indentation into it with the heat that these tubes build up... And the inconsistent noise was probably due to the expansion and shrinkage of the tube with the temperature change.
- So I got out my jig saw and cut that section out of the cowl. RE-installed it and now there is no more rattle! Holy Cow... This thing almost PURRS.
- Last night I filled all my Twin 38s after diving them at Fortune Pond last weekend. The RIX filled them fast enough to generate some heat and quiet enough that I forgot to put on my ear muffs several times as I walked in and out of the garage. Awesome compressor. :)
SurfLung
The Freedom and Simplicity of Vintage Equipment and
Vintage Diving Technique are Why I Got Back Into Diving.

User avatar
couv
Master Diver
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:26 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: RIX SA3E

Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:51 pm

SurfLung wrote:My RIX Purrrs...... So I got out my jig saw and cut that section out of the cowl. ....


Don't tell me, "Fits like a glove!"

Well done.

Some older airplanes I worked on had chafing pads on hydraulic or pneumatic lines that rubbed where they shouldn't. The pads were made of leather-but I would bet a thin strip of teflon would work mo-betta.
A sincere THANK YOU to all at VDH who make this wonderful resource available and to all the thoughtful contributors.

User avatar
Badlander316
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:24 am
Location: Longview TX

Re: RIX SA3E

Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:06 pm

Hey everyone... New to this site, but Ive seen the posts about the different RIX units you guys have and thought perhaps it would be beneficial for us all to be contacts.

I have a RIX SA-3E that I acquired and have redone from the ground up for my scuba training business. It has been a great machine for the most part, but has had a few issues from tubes leaking, piston rings failing, and head issues (most recent).

I have become best buds with Chirsta A. at RIX and feel I've become quite knowledgeable in these machines for self teaching most of it. I have enjoyed reading everything you all have shared.

I apologize if I'm stepping on a thread, just thought id introduce myself. Bryan from Texas
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SurfLung
Master Diver
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:03 pm
Location: Alexandria, MN

Re: RIX SA3E

Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:55 am

- Hey Badlander! VERY nice looking RIX! Thanks for sharing the pictures. Yes, I hear you about the rings and head issues. But man, they certainly are fixable at a reasonable price... Thank you Christa/RIX!
- I hadn't thought about getting new decals...
SurfLung
The Freedom and Simplicity of Vintage Equipment and
Vintage Diving Technique are Why I Got Back Into Diving.

Previous
Return to Compressor Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest