Forum rules
Discussion of diving methods and equipment available prior to the development of BCDs beyond the horse collar. This forum is dedicated to the pre-1970 diving.
1914mauser
First Name: Burgess

DA Aqua Master questions

Thu Jul 28, 2016 3:04 pm

Hello, this is my first non-test post. I am new to double hose but not to diving. When I was about 6 my father got me a yellow 38 cf tank with a Voit Explorer II, single hose with a blue plastic 2nd stage. I still have the 1st stage but the 2nd stage got cracked and is long gone.

I just acquired a U.S.Divers DA Aqua Master, chrome can with blue label with crown, long yoke, tire knob. It came with a banjo fitting. The mouth piece and hoses are pliable and may be silicon replacements. Is there a way to tell? What does the “DA” stand for? I plane to replace the “C” clips with a band. Are there any other upgrades recommended? Pros and cons? I have not had a chance to test it underwater but dry it breathes great.
Thanks in advance for replies.

Regards,

Herman
VDH Moderator

Re: DA Aqua Master questions

Thu Jul 28, 2016 5:49 pm

Welcome to the board and DH diving.
That sounds like a late 60s reg based on what you describe.
I don't know of a good way of telling the difference between silicone and good rubber ones without having a know in each hand.....one possible way, I personally don't like the taste of the rubber ones, silicone does not have that "rubber" taste. :)

As for upgrades it somewhat depends if you want to keep it original or not, for a daily diver I would add a couple of things. Besides the band clamp, I would add a duckbill eliminator (DBE), you are going to have to replace the duckbill reguardless so you might as well spend the little extra for the DBE. Its easier to install and a lot less of a PITA in my opinion, makes cleaning a lot easier (hoses are easier to remove and install).