Forum rules
Discussion of diving methods and equipment available prior to the development of BCDs beyond the horse collar. This forum is dedicated to the pre-1970 diving.
scubanut

Cleaning chrome on a DA

Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:19 pm

I have a DA Aquamaster and the chrome is on the dull side. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to make the chrome bright and shine. I have tried a few different things but no luck yet.

1969ivan1
Plank Owner
First Name: rob

Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:15 pm

Have you tried one of the chrome polishes that are sold in motorcycle stores?

scubanut

Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:14 am

Thanks for the suggestion, I will give that a try

1969ivan1
Plank Owner
First Name: rob

Wed Aug 24, 2005 4:19 pm

Anytime Fred!!!

treasureman
Master Diver

chrome polish

Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:10 pm

The softest chrome polish is made by Turtle wax. It does not leave any tell tale scratches and is perhaps the least abrasvie of the polishes. About 5 bux at the local car wash store.

I have found the chrome on DA not to be of that high a quality. recently my colleague who is chroming my other DA boxes tell me that chrome does not flow into recesses. example of the box is held by a hook when chromes, the plating will naturally go to the high spots and less to the lower or underside areas. Anyone who ever would make boxes out of stainless would have a nice niche market

duckbill

chrome polish and electroplating

Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:44 am

I just recently cleaned and polished my DA and DW using Napa "Blue Max" Chrome Cleaner and Polish. Worked fine for me- even cleaned off the vedigris nicely as well. Of course, the scratches and dings are there to stay.