Bryan
Plank Owner
First Name: Bryan

J.M. Cousteau Royal Aqua Lung Regulator

Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:30 pm

Check out all the weirdness inside the 2nd stage....I'm sure I've never worked on one before.....And this is the service manual for the space capsule first stage.....THANK YOU to SKIP for sending this to me so I could share it with everyone.

CLICK HERE
Doing it right should include some common sense, not just blindly following specs and instructions. .Gary D, AWAP on SB

Ron
Site Admin
First Name: Ron

Re: J.M. Cousteau Royal Aqua Lung Regulator

Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:57 pm

Does that second stage have 2 exhaust valves? What a weird design. Can you find parts for it? I kind of want to tinker with one.
The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed. -JYC

Bryan
Plank Owner

Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:30 pm

I've never seen on of those second stages in the flesh but I'd like to take one apart to understand it better.

Here is the 1983 USD Catalog with the info about the regulator.

CLICK HERE
Doing it right should include some common sense, not just blindly following specs and instructions. .Gary D, AWAP on SB

antique diver
Master Diver
First Name: Bill

Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:07 pm

slonda828 wrote:Does that second stage have 2 exhaust valves? What a weird design. Can you find parts for it? I kind of want to tinker with one.
Yes, there is a small one directly across the box from the 2nd stage inlet. I suppose it did help reduce exhalation effort.

I don't think they were around very long. I remember them as touchy to service and adjust properly, and the complexity didn't seem worth the effort for the minimal benefit in performance... if indeed there really was any as advertised. Maybe I just wasn't doing it right, but there is some reason they weren't kept in the line. Probably hard to find the 2nd stage seat/poppet and the relief valve inline with it, but someone did post a photo of one of the former a few years back asking what it was. Don't remember who.